Classes are coming to an end… so is this blog

Well as you can already guess, yes this is the final blog post. I haven’t really given it much thought, I just figured I’ll start writing and see what happens. The only reason I’m ending this blog is that I feel I’m not much of a blog writer and also my class is over. This blog started from my ENC1102 class and now that finals are here it’s time to say goodbye to Humerous Chestnut. Some of you may be wondering where I got the name of my blog from and to be completely honest chestnut was the first thing that came to mind. Now whether or not you have noticed, the name isn’t spelled correctly, and that’s because I made this blog just a few moments before I had to turn in a post as an assignment. While rushing to make the page, pick a layout and write before the deadline, I found myself misspelling humerous which should really be humorous. Another thing about this blog is my name, which many of you don’t know. It was in the instructions for creating the blog stating that we could make a Pen Name. Instantly I thought of an anagram for my name that ended up on the bottom of all my posts. So if you are still wondering, no my name is not Elk Worn (which by the way the full anagram is “By Elk Worn”). If you care enough, go ahead and try to find it out, I have a pretty general name anyways.635856012501575199-488077415_fb_img_1449951710931

Source of this picture

Before I go, I want to let you know what I’ll be doing after this blog. Well first things first, I have assignments due all throughout this week that I’m stressing over and that’s not even the hard part. I have final exams due next week, and I basically need an amazing grade in all of my classes if I want to pass. After that, however, I plan to continue my studies and indeed find out if I would like to major in Computer Science Engineering or Journalism. I’ve been struggling between those choices, and I would really love to have my own radio show or online news broadcast, but on the other hand, I would also love to be able to code my own websites, programs, and maybe even video games.  I believe that Alan Watts really sums it up the best. Here’s a little snippet of his speech but I recommend you listen to the entire thing here.

But it’s absolutely stupid to spend your time doing things you don’t like, in order to go on spending things you don’t like, doing things you don’t like and to teach our children to follow in the same track.See what we are doing, is we’re bringing up children and educating to live the same sort of lifes we are living.In order that they may justify themselves and find satisfaction in life by bringing up their children to bring up their children to do the same thing, so it’s all retch, and no vomit it never gets there. And so, therefore, it’s so important
to consider this question: What do I desire?
 – Alan Watts

And on that note, I’ll leave you all with this goodbye.

By Elk Worn

Word Count: 546

One thought on “Classes are coming to an end… so is this blog”

Leave a Reply

